Photo-Art by Neil de Boer

Colour VS Black & White

Conestogo Bridge HDR Colour

 

Conestogo Bridge Black & White

This image is of the old steel bridge just outside the Village of Conestogo Ont. Canada. Saturday morning was beautiful with just the right amount of clouds for an interesting sky. So the question is – do you like the Black & White or Colour version best. While I love the blue sky with the clouds I think I prefer the dramatic feel and vintage look of the B&W version.

So – I have upgraded my trusty 7 year old Canon Rebel 6mp camera to a new Canon 60D 18mp camera. I took it out for a test run Saturday morning and it was great. Lots of flexibility – easy to change the settings – built in level – bright articulating view screen. My only issue now is that the file size is so much larger that my trusty old computer is having a hard time with the extra processing I do to get the final image. Do the upgrades ever end?

5 responses

  1. casey

    the one in black and white shows more the detail ot the bridge and therefore i prefer the black and white.
    Dad

    January 8, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    • Thanks for the comments Emily. I’ll see what I can come up with in the way of a less processed colour one.

      January 9, 2012 at 3:22 am

  2. Do you have an unprocessed version of the color one? I’d be interested to see if the bridge was in sharper focus without the processing (I think you’re layering pictures or something right?) Otherwise I like the black and white, I think it’s great when capturing architectural pieces.

    January 8, 2012 at 10:44 pm

  3. Personally, I would go with the black and white version, then digitally change it to sepia tone, so it would fit with the images I’m posting in a pictorial blog I’m putting together as a memorial to my mother. She grew up in Conestogo, and there are photographs taken on the bridge in the 1940’s but none of the entire bridge. Thanks for posting your pictures; the bridge appears pretty much unchanged from the bits and pieces I can see in my 1940’s photos. http://lauragaederusswurm.tumblr.com/post/42471796064/laura-posing-with-a-shiny-automobile-on-the

    February 22, 2013 at 1:54 am

    • Thanks for the comments Laurel. I can add a sepia effect and send it to you if you like.

      February 22, 2013 at 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

