Photo-Art by Neil de Boer

Find An Inspiration and Run With It!

I was talking about photography with Dave Small, the music director at our church, and he told me his Uncle is Michael Orton who pioneered a photographic technique which gives a painterly look. In fact Adobe Photoshop Elements 10 was released containing an “Orton Effect” guided action. I checked out his web site and was inspired by the beautiful abstract images. http://www.michaelortonphotography.com/index.html

The wonderful colours made me think of the beautiful quilts my wife Elizabeth makes. I grabbed my camera and went up stairs where some of her quilts hang on the railing. The sun was beaming in the window and created a interesting shadow effect on one of the quilts so I shot that first and then changed my setting so that the shutter speed was about 1/5 of a sec. I then panned the camera across the quilt as I shot to get a motion blur. It remind’s me of looking out of a subway car window when it speeds through a station and every thing is blurred. The second set is of a flower quilt Elizabeth made. The first shot shows what this beautiful quilt looks like. The second was shot at 1.3 sec. while I rotated the camera 45deg. So when you see something that inspires you let your creative juices flow and experiment! You never know what you will come up with. Click on the pictures to see a larger version.

One response

  1. Hello Neil, Nice to hear from you. Find an inspiration and run with it , is a great mindset for photography, and more. My early influences were from the local art community , and I am certainly thankful . They prompted me to see in a different way. How lucky was I . Keep exploring , you are on a wonderful path. All the best, Michael

    January 16, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

