Students at the University of Waterloo School of Architecture in Cambridge Ontario can get inspiration not only from the building the school is in (the former Riverside Silk Mill) but also by looking out of the library window for a view of the Old Post Office / Idea Exchange which has been renovated and expanded incorporating an innovative blend of old and new.
These two sites were on the list of 34 sites open to the public during Doors Open Waterloo Region 2018
The Young Chapel is in the Mount View Cemetery in Cambridge. It was a real treat to get to explore the inside of this rarely opened jewel.
Unchanged and rarely opened, this chapel boasts beautiful original exposed-timber roof, stained-glass windows, chandeliers and woodwork. See the original basement vault and two-floor casket hoist system. The exterior features superb stonemasonry, original lighting and a slate roof. The chapel was built by the family of James Young, local businessman, journalist and MP in Canada’s first parliament (1867).
Another Doors Open Waterloo Region has come and gone and this year had no lack of interesting sites to visit.
One of our first stops was Trinity Anglican on Blair Rd. in Cambridge. Here is the description from the Doors Open Web site.
Trinity Anglican is the oldest church building in Galt (Cambridge), set in a traditional churchyard surrounded by a cobblestone fence with a 1909 lych gate. Trinity’s striking, exposed-timber nave roof has ornately decorated trusses. Other highlights include beautiful stained-glass windows, an 1845 bell, an abundance of carved woodwork by Waterloo’s Globe Furniture Company, and other vintage wood trim.
Stop number eight on the Doors Open Waterloo Region was the Gore Mutual Insurance Company in Cambridge. The original building of the Neoclassical Revival style with lots of marble in the interior was spectacular. It was originally built in 1935 with additions in 1955 and 1974.
The 7th location we visited on the Doors Open tour was the Galt Arena in Cambridge. Built in 1922 it is said to be the oldest continually operating indoor hockey arena in existence. The limestone and brick exterior along with the original BC red fir ceiling were a treat to see.
Click on a gallery picture to see larger
The Col. J.A. McIntosh , DSO, ED Armoury in Cambridge was our 6th stop in this years Doors Open Waterloo Region. Built in 1914 it is the home of the Royal Highland Fusiliers of Canada and is a Federal Heritage Building. The interior has lots of beautiful wood finishings and the Regimental history displays were very interesting.
Click on an image below to see larger
The Middleton Water Pumping Station is located in the Galt section of Cambridge. It was built in 1890-91 when Galt became the first local community to have a publicly owned waterworks. Little has changed in 100 years with the original ceilings, walls, trim etc. Decommissioned pumps and motors have been wonderfully preserved and are on display. These shots are by both myself and Elizabeth.